Faith, Not Religion

Religion has become a mask for people to do evil things “in the name of [insert God].”

Perhaps it has always been this way. Look at the Crusades.

The Creator of all would never condone murder of His creation simply because some are nonbelievers, so-called heretics or infidels. Persuasive conversion to the right way of thinking is necessary in a world of free will and disbelief, but persuasion comes from words and positive, right actions. Violence commands fear and forced obedience, not belief. Yet somehow, all religious sects progress into violent decrees when words don’t work.

When words don’t work, we are supposed to back off and let our actions speak.

“Actions speak louder than words.”

Anger, hatred, judgment, and violence show who we really are: sinners who have turned from God, not missionaries speaking for Him/Her.* Creation is an act of art, pride, and love. There is no room for hate.

I hold stock in faith and philosophy, not any one label. Labels breed segregation, dissent, and distrust. Labels identify me versus you, us versus them.

This is not what the Creator wants of His/Her children.

My foundation is Christianity, not only because I was raised to believe it, but also because I have scrutinized it alongside other religious options. While the Bible seems to contradict itself in places (more on this later), I blame this on fallible human writers, not our Father who inspired them. How often are words lost in translation? From God to language to language to language, the message is bound to be misinterpreted at some point. This is why churches and pastors still exist: not only to be a community of believers, but because most individuals cannot read the Word and know exactly what God is communicating.

Christianity is the only religion I have found that adequately explains the presence and proliferation of evil and corruption, and gives us a solution in the form of Christ (love, goodness, purity) rather than magic, murder, reincarnation, or recurrent human/animal sacrifice.

However, I find issues with its tendency to put God in a box, to simplify His/Her majesty into God-in-Heaven, People-on-Earth.

Throughout this blog, I will discuss my philosophical theories on the nature of God, His ongoing relationship with earth, the reality behind Christ’s sacrifice and our salvation, and how pagan notions that celebrate the earth are not in direct opposition to Christianity (and they definitely do not worship Satan).

I hope you find it intriguing, even enlightening.

*From now on, I will refer to God in the masculine. I believe God is androgynous; He created all things male and female for more than one reason (more on this later as well), but making certain I include both/all pronouns every time I reference Him is too bulky and convoluted. I will go with tradition on this matter.

[I will delete comments that insinuate that I am a heretic or going to Hell. I will delete links to Christian websites (trust me, I have read most of them) and comments that any philosophical musing outside the Bible’s pages is somehow bad and evil. My purpose is not to denounce the Trinity, but to investigate the true nature and existence of it beyond, “Heaven is where God lives.” God is too great to be confined by a single book. I invite queries for clarification and suggestions for future discussions.]

God bless with mother earth’s bliss.

Leave a Reply

