What I Mean When I Say Gaia

The word Gaia, for me, is an appellation for the feminine manifestation of God as the earth. This is how I reconcile somewhat-misled pagan ideas with Christian truths, and how I reconcile the feminine with the masculine. If God were entirely masculine, then women would not also be in His image, nor would there be any reason for them to exist. Adam could have been an asexual reproducer.

Regarding Wicca, paganism, and heresy: I do not worship nature. I respect and love nature as a living manifestation of God, but in itself it is not a god.

I follow elements of New Age thought instead, although I acknowledge the two paths share elements. New Age practices are reasonable to apply to Christian faith, as are elements of Eastern spirituality, but Wicca and other polytheistic religions contradict Christianity. While I respect others’ faiths, I do not adopt them as my own. I could not call myself a Christian if I did, and I honestly do not believe in them (I believe in the One Triune God who came to us in our form to die for our salvation).

The elements of New Age I apply:

  • Angelology / Angel Healing
    • Requesting ministering from God’s angels for physical, mental, and emotional healing and guidance (in other words, asking God to send them to help)
    • Not praying to them for redemption, which is heresy
  • Crystal Healing
  • Aromatherapy
  • Holistic Medicine (Herbs)

Basically, using God’s provisions.

The elements of New Age I reject (among others):

  • Tarot
  • Past Life Regression
  • Fairies and Indigo Children
  • Divination
  • Psychic Readers / Healers
  • Palm Readers, tea leaf readings
  • Reincarnation

I want to reiterate that I believe in using Creation to become closer to God. Once magic and guesswork come into play, I want no part of it.

Further reading:

https://www.amazon.com/Gaia-God-Ecofeminist-Theology-Healing/dp/0060669675

God bless with mother earth’s bliss.

2 thoughts on “What I Mean When I Say Gaia

Leave a Reply

